Applications for NT GSM nominations are now available for both onshore and offshore candidates. Migration NT continues to receive and evaluate onshore nomination applications using the same qualifying criteria. Once applicants meet the eligibility requirements, they should submit their applications. Applications may not be considered before visa expiration dates. Those whose visas are about to expire should obtain expert guidance on their visa alternatives to ensure they remain lawfully present in Australia.

At the time of filing their nomination application and during the application process, all candidates must ensure that they fulfill both the NT nomination requirements and the standard Home Affairs criterion. The applicant must ensure that all documentation, including English test scores, skills evaluations, and so on, are up to date.

Visas That Require Employer's Nomination

  • Temporary Skill Shortage (subclass 482) visa
  • The Northern Territory Designated Area Migration Agreement (NT DAMA) is a visa scheme sponsored by an employer that falls within the Temporary Skill Shortage visa category (Subclass 482 labor agreement stream). Under the NT DAMA, an individual worker cannot apply for a visa on their own. They should seek employment with a Northern Territory employer willing to sponsor them.
  • Employer Nomination Scheme (subclass 186) visa
  • Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) Visa (subclass 494) is a skilled, employer-sponsored temporary residence visa for employers operating in regional Australia.
  • The Temporary Work (Short Stay Specialist) visa (subclass 400) provides limited-term, highly specialized, non-ongoing work.
  • A training visa (subclass 407) permits you to participate in workplace-based training to improve your skills, tertiary study area, or field of expertise or to enroll in a professional development training program in Australia.
  • Visa subclass 403 (Temporary Work (International Relations)). There are five streams to this visa, including the seasonal worker program.

General Skilled Migration Visas

These visas are intended for young, competent individuals with excellent English skills:

  • Skilled Independent (subclass 189) visa (Permanent)
  • Skilled Work Regional (Subclass 491) visa (Provisional)
  • Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) visa

Applicants for subclasses 491 and 190 visas must be nominated by a state or territory government, such as Northern Territory.

MINT Program

The Migration Innovation Northern Territory (MINT) program is a Darwin Innovation Hub and Paspalis Asset Management project backed by the Northern Territory Government.

The program supports foreign nationals obtaining a nomination from the Northern Territory Government. They must demonstrate their commitment to participating in the Darwin Innovation Hub.

In The Case of New Zealand Citizens

Most New Zealand nationals are issued visas on arrival in Australia (Special Category visa (subclass 444)), allowing them to work indefinitely.

Your employers may require qualifications and job experience. Some vocations will need you to register and obtain a license.

New Zealand nationals who satisfy the appropriate conditions can apply for permanent residence.

You may be qualified for the following skilled and employer-sponsored visa programs:

  • The employer nominated a Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) (subclass 494) visa.
  • Independent migration under the General Skilled Migration Category; New Zealand nationals are eligible for preferential treatment under this program.
  • The Northern Territory Government of Australia nominated migration under one of the General Skilled Migration visas.

For more updates, check out our website. However, you can contact our immigration experts by calling on 8595338595 or mail us at [email protected] for any queries. 

Quick Enquiry

I hereby authorize to send notifications on SMS/ Messages/ Promotional/ informational messages